Automotive Components Certification

The Ordinance Inmetro No. 145 of 2022 and its complementary define the aspects necessary for the certification of automotive components, which is also mandatory (compulsory) before commercialization.

This ordinance is applicable to after marketing products and covers the products listed below:

Shock Absorber;
Electric Fuel Pump for Otto Cycle Engines;
Horn Used in motor vehicle;
Aluminum Alloy Pistons, Piston Pins and Locking Rings;
Piston Rings;
Lamps for Automotive Vehicles;
Lead-Acid Batteries for Motor Vehicles;
Tie Rod, Steering Bars, Rod Link and Axial Rod;
Friction Materials for Road Vehicle Brakes (Brake Pads and Brake Shoes).

This ordinance also defines that certification can be carried out using one of the two certification models below:

Certification model 5, which includes initial and annual evaluation of products and the Plant Management System. Annual repetition of these assessments is necessary if the product is to be certified. In this model the certification is valid for 05 years.

Certification model 1b, where certification applies to only one specific lot of the product. In this model the evaluations are carried out only at the beginning, and the certificate is valid permanently, but only for a lot of products in question.

Process steps

In a simplified way, below are listed the main steps of the certification process for this scope.

Model 5 Certification Steps

Model 1B Certification Steps